Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Johnny
Reviewed: Jul 17, 2017
Property
Highly recommend booking with Great Vacation Retreat's! They were so accommodating and this place is beautiful. Close to everything and within walking distance of the beach and the Poipu Athletic Club. The free rental car with the stay was very much appreciated as we drove to multiple beaches and a port for a sunset sail. Thanks for an awesome stay. Hope to be back again!
View Property: KIAHUNA 436
Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jul 17, 2017
Property
Enjoyed our first visit to the Big Island. This condo was centrally located on the Kona side of the island and had a beautiful ocean view. Magical sunsets and one morning we had a pod of spinner dolphins outside of our condo putting on a great show.
View Property: SEA VILLAGE 4207
Peppy
Reviewed: Jul 17, 2017
Property
This place is great! Beautiful, clean and great location. Our only problem was that we went in July and it was very hot. Uncomfortable to sleep. I don't know if in Kauai many homes have a/c.
View Property: PUU POA 413
Todd
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2017
Property Manager
Thank you so much! We had a great time!
Property
The condo was comfortable and stocked with all the amenities you'd ever need. The ocean views and breeze was just amazing. We really enjoyed our time!
View Property: POIPU SANDS 122
Clifton
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2017
Property
The condo was everything we wanted and more! Would definitely stay here again! Everything was perfect!
View Property: KIAHUNA 108
Nick
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2017
Property
Great communication, great location and great value with the rental car. We were a little bit worried about no A/C in July, but the breeze and the fans kept us cool.
View Property: KIAHUNA 436
Naudi
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2017
Property
Definitely a great stay right by the beach!
View Property: KIAHUNA 54
Nathan
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2017
Property
Great place to stay. The condo was very comfortable, everything you could need, including all kitchen items and a washer/dryer in the apartment (beats having to pay $5 each time you want to do a load of laundry!). The clincher was the rental car, though. A great price and a car, too - so much so that I moved to another GVR place after my trip was extended, but Waikomo 202 wasn't available.
View Property: WAIKOMO STREAMS 202
Sherilyn
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2017
Property
beautiful house perfect if you have lots of people.... lots of stairs... office staff was great....
View Property: DAYDREAM BELIEVER
Steven
Reviewed: Jul 12, 2017
Property
The condo was impressively clean and very nice. Well worth the value.
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 201
Daniel
Reviewed: Jul 10, 2017
Property
Great condo, great value including a rental car. Very comfortable! Nice touch with the bottles of water and cookies ready for us! Would stay here again.
View Property: KIAHUNA 406
Joey
Reviewed: Jul 10, 2017
Property
Amazing condo, the actual views are better than the pics do justice! It almost feels like you're on the water. From the living room/kitchen you can hear the lapping waves. This management company is also great at providing a smooth experience, its clear they care about the guests and want to make them comfortable. They are very responsive to text/emails. The unit itself is very well appointed, and clean. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need. Bed is very comfortable, I was surprised at the quality of the mattress compared to most rentals. Being on the 2nd floor, its easy access by stairs (or elevator) to the parking lot. One downside is the lack of air conditioning in the bedroom. The rest of the unit doesn't really need A/C since there is ample breeze from the windows, however the bedroom is in the back of the unit so can get quite stuffy. Note the nearest beach to the condo is right next door, its good for snorkeling/surfing but not great for just swimming or playing in the waves due to it being quite rocky. There are other more sandy beaches nearby, approx. 10min walk or quick drive.
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 208
Scott
Reviewed: Jul 10, 2017
Property
Beautiful on water. GVR host is responsive. Property clean, aptly appointed, good wifi.
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 303
Chuck
Reviewed: Jul 10, 2017
Property
Very special place. Beautiful place I'll be back
View Property: POIPU SHORES 102A
Desiree
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2017
Property
The condo was equipped with everything. Perfect Family Vacation Rental.
View Property: KIAHUNA 436
Kuulei
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2017
Property
Lovely place to stay. Lot she of room for everyone to spread out and have their own space. We were a little sad the pool was not built. But the Poipu Beach Club was a good alternative. Definitely would stay again!
View Property: PILI MAI 15L
Ashley
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2017
Property
We really loved this spot. The location was close to town and the best coffee shop in the area is located right in the parking lot of the complex. The rental car was a huge bonus. Only complaint is that there is no AC in the condo. However, there are plenty of fans so that helped a lot in the heat. Would recommend this spot to future travelers!
View Property: SEA VILLAGE 4207
Damian
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2017
Property
We really enjoyed our stay! The views were amazing and the neighborhood was quiet and very welcoming. Thank you GVR for your outstanding hospitality and well maintained condo. The only downside is no A/C. It's not bad at night but during the day it was a little uncomfortable to hang around inside. Then again the pool and Popui beach are right there so we didn't have a problem cooling off.
View Property: POIPU PALMS 204
Amira
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2017
Property
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights. We like waking up early, running, hiking and doing outdoor activities. -Beautiful resort and very easy drive to other cities. -Comfortable and clean condo. -Hands off once we got there. You're given 4 body, 4 hand and 2 wash towels. We washed the towels once with our clothes. Don't make the same mistake. The towel debris got all over our workout clothes! Haha! We were also provided with a few cleaning supplies under the bathroom and kitchen sink and beach supplies(body boards/bamboo beach mats/sunscreen/beach bag) in the living room closet. -If you like to sleep in, this place might not be for you. Roosters at 5:30am and gardeners at 8am. It didn't bother us because we were up and coming back from a run. -Little Fish Coffee close by. -Nice beach with a grass area to lounge and soak in the sun. -Fantastic communication from our Airbnb rep. -No live bugs in our apartment. One baby gecko, but it was cute! -Very quiet after 9pm . Roosters start talking around 5:30am ish, but we were already up waiting for little Fish Coffee to open at 6:30am and planning our days. -We plan on staying here again!
View Property: KIAHUNA 108
Lauren
Reviewed: Jul 9, 2017
Property
Our family of 4 stayed here for 10 days, including our 17 and 22 year old kids. The condo was perfect for us. It's quite spacious, everything is brand new, clean and well-maintained. All the supplies you could possibly need are included (pots, pans, silverware, cooking utensils, spices, towels, beach towels, boogie boards, etc). It is about a mile from the beach, so you could walk there, but easier to drive. Walkable to a shopping center with a General Store, multiple restaurants and shops. The place is so new that there is still construction going on on new units right next door. The construction is all during the day, so it wasn't really an issue for us, but it does start early, so it makes it hard to sleep in late. Other than that, we loved staying here and GVR did a nice job of supporting our stay (providing early check-in and making sure we had everything we needed).
View Property: PILI MAI 10E
Michelle
Johnston, US
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2017
Property Manager
Any time I had a question or concern and had to contact the property management, they were extremely prompt with their response and immediately took care of anything we needed. It was very nice to know we had someone to reach out to with anything we may need.
Property
Again, the unit itself needs to be updated and either needs air conditioning added or window units in the bedrooms, so guests can sleep. We absolutely love Kauai and the Poipu area, but were hoping for an equally awesome condo there.
View Property: MAKAHUENA 2304
Michael
Glasgow, GB
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2017
Property Manager
We did not have reason to call on support, but simply enjoyed the relaxation and beach-time.
Property
The property was well furnished with all the essentials. We made good use of the facilities for light cooking and blending (iced drinks, smoothies, etc). We LOVED the lanai and enjoyed the regular visits of the geikos. Views were fabulous and the grounds beautiful. Trade wind breeze through the apartment made it very comfortable, even on the hottest of days. We'll definitely be back as soon as we're able (may be 11 hours' time difference for us, but well worth it!) and hope we might stay in the same apartment again.
View Property: KIAHUNA 106
Holly
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2017
Property
This sweet bungalow was perfect for our little family and a few friends! Smart use of space makes plenty of sleeping room for everyone without feeling crowded. The open floor plan around the kitchen meant we all got to hang out together over breakfast and dinner with beautiful views of the ocean and surrounding trees. The loft bed was such a cool feature, and we loved being able to walk to the beach.
View Property: MAKANUI BUNGALOW
Marina
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2017
Property
We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful condo. Located in the southern part of the Island, short walk to the beach and the athletic center. The condo is beautifully decorated, plantation style. Clean and spacious, the bed is comfortable, all essentials provided, no AC but ceiling fans help to circulate the air. Also windows have plantation shutters that could be open to create a fresh breeze throughout the condo. Very nice lanai facing open space with a garden in the back. We highly recommend Smith's luau - very traditional, family style, held on a tropical plantation with fruit trees, peacocks walking around, may need to be booked in advance. Would definitely stay here again.
View Property: KIAHUNA 406
Lauren
Reviewed: Jul 8, 2017
Property
Poipu Shores 101 B truly is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. The views from the condo and private Lanai are absolutely breathtaking. You don't just have an ocean view, you are ON TOP of the ocean. Everything about this place is magical and I will definitely be staying there again.
View Property: POIPU SHORES 101A