Hawaiian Holidays

Hawaii observes 3 annual state holidays where most banks and state agencies are closed:

March 26th is Kuhio Day and celebrates the birthday of Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole. He was born on Kauai in 1841 and is most remembered for getting Congress to delegate public lands for Native Hawaiian homesteads. Prince Kuhio Park and the statue of the late Prince is located on the South Shore on the road to Spouting Horn.

June 11th is Kamehameha Day and was established in 1871 by King Kamehameha V by royal proclamation to honor his great-grandfather Kamehameha the First. Kamehameha was the first unified ruler of the Hawaiian Islands in 1795. The huge statue of King Kamehameha in Waikiki is draped in ceremonial flower leis, and hula and parades are held island-wide.

Admissions Day is observed on the third Friday of August and celebrates Hawaii becoming the 50th state of America in 1959.

Popular unofficial state holidays that are celebrated in Hawaii include Chinese New Year which is celebrated between late January and mid-February, Girl’s Day on March 3rd, Boy’s Day on May 5th and May Day (Lei Day) which usually occurs during the first week of May.