**Free mid-size car while cars are available. Not valid with any other special offers. Car can be upgraded for minimal fee, unlimited mileage and taxes included, and is picked-up and dropped-off at the airport. Cars are on a 24-hour basis so if flight arrival and departure times exceed the number of days reserved, there will be an additional charge.
POIPU SANDS 417
With the Poipu Kai Greenbelt as your backyard, the pool and BBQ area right across the lawn, and a garden path leading to a beautiful sandy beach just steps from your back door, every day can be as carefree as an island breeze at this tropical ground-floor escape.
Spend quality time with your ohana in the inviting open living space, with comfy sofas and a cable flat-screen TV and DVD player for family movie nights. Enhance the island vibes by creating your own vacation soundtrack with the iPod dock and CD player, or kick back on the lanai to listen to the sound of luau drums on Thursday and Sunday evenings while watching waves crash 100 yards away.
The recently remodeled open kitchen has everything you need to whip up family meals at home if you choose to stay in, along with an eat-in bar and a dining table for four.
Let the kids claim the two twin-size beds in the guest room (or convert it to a king for another couple) while you unwind in the king-size master with its own flat-screen TV and sliding door access to the lanai. With a queen-size sleeper sofa in the living room, the condo can comfortably accommodate six, and with two remodeled en suite baths, sharing space is a breeze!
All of our Great Vacation Retreats have modern amenities to make your stay as stress-free and enjoyable as possible. Bluetooth stereos and Smart TVs offer the latest in entertainment, and our electronic charging stations mean your group will never have to fight over outlets. Plus, you'll enjoy easy check-in and added security from our keyless Point Central Lock system.
Why We Love This Home
Awesome Amenities: When you stay at Poipu Sands, you’ll have an on site pool and tennis court just steps away AND access to Poipu Kai’s community tennis courts, pool, and hot tub, too.
Conveniently Located: Along with enjoying serene sunset picnics on the lawn just steps from your lanai, you'll also have three beaches under a 15-minute walk, and a luxury spa, boutique shops, and five-star restaurants under a five-minute walk.
Road Trip Ready: With a free midsize car rental included in the price of the condo and easy access to parking, you can choose your own adventure and explore the island anytime you want!
Follow the path along the Poipu Kai Greenbelt for a less than five-minute walk to Shipwreck’s Beach, explore the scenic Maha'ulepu Coastal Trail while scoping for sea turtles and Hawaiian Monk Seals, or check out award-winning Poipu Beach, just a 10-15 minute stroll from the resort. Situated on seven acres of tropical landscaping next to the Grand Hyatt Kauai, Poipu Sands also puts you right next door to restaurants, shops, live entertainment, and world-famous Poipu Bay Golf Course.
If you’re looking for a resort-style stay, we have you covered. For an additional fee you’ll have uninhibited access to the Poipu Beach Athletic Club, home to a fitness center, hot tub and sparkling pool with a waterslide and sand-bottomed kiddie section – everything you need to work out, cool off or wind down.
Vacation Membership Available for Exclusive (Members Only)
Poipu Beach Athletic Club (pool, tennis, workout) for a fee
If you’re looking for a resort-style stay, we have you covered. For an additional fee you’ll have uninhibited access to the Poipu Beach Athletic Club, home to a fitness center, hot tub and sparkling pool with a waterslide and sand-bottomed kiddie section - everything you need to work out, cool off or wind down. MEMBERSHIPS ARE LIMITED, PLEASE LET US KNOW IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SECURE A MEMBERSHIP PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL.
Transient accommodations tax id number: w30291138-01
Nearby golf courses and shopping
Cable TV-42" flat screen in living room with DVD. 22" flatscreen in master bedroom
A/C is not an option at this property but don’t let that deter you! Turn on the overhead fans, open the windows and let in the gentle ocean breezes and cooling trade-winds. Embrace the tropical climate and live like an islander!
Stereo withCD player and iPod Docking Station
Fully equipped kitchen
Complimentary Island Soap and Candle Works toiletries
Starter kit of Kauai Coffee Company coffee and condiments provided
All linens including beach towels provided
Starter kit of paper and cleaning products such as toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent, etc. provided
Master Bedroom: King bed
Guest Bedroom: Twin beds that can be converted to King
Living Room: Queen sofa-sleeper
Beautiful location as advertised. We loved the proximity to the ocean. The room was well appointed and clean.
Reviewed: Nov 15, 2018
I loved the location and the communication from Great Vacation Retreats was absolutely top-notch! I cannot recommend them highly enough. It was the perfect place for a fabulous vacation!
Reviewed: Jul 21, 2018
This place is absolutely everything we were looking for walking distance to a beach (shipwreck) in an area that is calm and relaxing, nice pool, short drive to Poipu beach which was one of my favorite beaches on the island. Easy check in. The place was very spacious, clean, Seems larger then the pictures had all the amenities would definitely stay here again!
Reviewed: Jun 19, 2018
We are a experienced world wide travellers, and unfortunatly had no resources after our check in to voice our real concerns other then to work with the local security outfit on the property. Our calls about noise ended up with No followup or results.
So sorry that you experienced loud neighbors during your stay. It is unfortunate, but not likely to happen again. Most travelers are very respectful of others around them. We hope you can come back again with a different experience.
Reviewed: May 30, 2018
The place was great just being able to walk out onto the lawn like it was our front yard. The chickens were friendly, the geckos did their job, it was a beautiful stay for our first family vacation. Loved the sound of the surf in the evening.
Reviewed: Mar 4, 2018
Reviewed: Feb 9, 2018
Reviewed: Jan 9, 2018
We had an amazing time in Poipu sands with our 2 y/o daughter. Walking distance to the beach, and very safe for children, Poipu sands is exactly as described by Great Vacation Retreats
Reviewed: Dec 11, 2017
The hosts were very responsive and helpful. We really appreciated that and their personal touch. The condo was clean and well organized. The amenities were really nice. We loved being able to use the athletic club. It is within a short walking distance to the Hyatt with great restaurants and a great beach at Shipwrecks. We loved being able to relax on the patio and listen to the sound of the ocean. Even if this one unit is not available I would look for their other properties, as they were great hosts!
Reviewed: Nov 30, 2017
Everything was great! We were disappointed that the pool, when finished did not have a jacuzzi. That was the only dissapointment :)
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2017
San marcos, US
Reviewed: Jul 14, 2017
Did not return the call that I left before hours about the bugs/roaches situation. I had to call the office after they opened as I did not get a call back.
Mahalo for leaving a review. We are sorry that you had to call us when our office opened prior to our being able to return your message from the night before. We try to answer all messages first thing in the morning, but sometimes, we fall short when we are dealing with emergencies or other incoming calls. It was not our intention to make you wait.
I have stayed here before and so has a lot of my family members. I was very unhappy this time as we had a bug/roach infestation in the master bedroom. The internet never really worked yet you advertise internet is available. The light in the spare room fell on my son and broke. It caused minor cuts on his arm. We had to wait over an hour for the exterminator to come to kill the bugs/roaches. (I was advised the by the exterminator that he went to 415 yet I specifically told Mark in the office I was is 417) So we ended up being subject to the fumes of the exterminator services the whole time we were there. I feel a reimbursement should be provided for the lack of internet services that are said to be included but are not. I put this information on the 415 survey that was sent to me which should of been sent to Gail Cosgrove.
Mahalo for your review. We are very sorry that you experienced an infestation during your stay and tried our best to resolve it for you as quickly as possible. Because your name was on both properties, Mark accidentally gave the wrong condo number to the exterminator or they wouldn't have taken so long to get to you. Your business is important to us and we know you are a return guest to Kauai. We very much hope we can make this up to you on a future visit as we have always enjoyed having your as a guest.
Reviewed: May 31, 2017
Great, spacious, and quiet!
SAN DIEGO, US
Reviewed: May 15, 2017
Have always enjoyed our stays at this property.
Reviewed: Feb 16, 2017
Lahuna Niguel, US
Reviewed: Jan 1, 2017
Members of your team were always available via email or phone calls.
We love the location of the property. The king size bed in the first bedroom was great! Our suggestion is that the second bedroom have 2 double beds instead of 2 twin beds. Thank you. We had a great trip!!!
Reviewed: Jul 18, 2016
Everyone from great vacation retreats were great to work with. We loved our location. We will definitely use great vacation retreats again.
Condo was very nice and the location was great. We would stay here again.
Reviewed: Apr 18, 2016
Reviewed: Mar 17, 2016
We were a li Toe disappointed about the construction next door, but in the end it didn't bother us at all. It is a lovely property,much bigger than I expected. Overall we were very happy with our stay and we will be back.
Reviewed: Feb 23, 2016
We were very disappointed on the amount of noise that was happening across from us, the construction on the building was very noisy and disturbing. Also we were annoyed that our neighbors who stayed with a different company received a 25% discount on their stay because of it and you guys did nothing.
We are so sorry that you did not receive the discount for your stay. We contacted everyone prior to arrival to let them know about the construction and offering the discount and are not sure how you were missed. Thank you for letting us know and we have credited your account for the 25%. We are very sorry for the mis communication and do hope you consider us for your next Hawaiian vacation!
Reviewed: Feb 12, 2016
San Diego, US
Reviewed: Oct 4, 2015
Kealea in Koloa office was very responsive and friendly.
Very happy with the recent remodeling that was done. We were considering renting some other condo in the area next time but now will go back to PS-417 if possible.
Reviewed: Sep 6, 2015
Excellent communication. Quick response to e-mails.
Overall very happy with our stay and experience with GVR. Everything went smoothly from the Car rental to check out. Enjoyed the use of the Poipu Beach Athletic Club, well worth the $100.
Reviewed: Sep 3, 2015
The apartment was great, clean and very well located. We enjoyed it a lot and would have enjoyed it even more with air conditioning. It has been a perfect home for my family of 5.
Santa Barbara, US
Reviewed: Jul 15, 2015
I contacted the team several times via email with questions about the unit and then the rental car. I also talked with someone on the phone when we were leaving to address two items that came up during our visit. All correspondence and calls were handled professionally and quickly. The team was great to work with as they sent reminders about deposit due, balance due and information about where the keys would be upon arrival, etc. All very efficient.
The location is wonderful! Close to the Hyatt and we loved the view of the ocean from the lounge chairs on the patio. The unit had everything that we needed for a comfortable stay. I would suggest that new, larger/nicer wine glasses be purchased and also consider air conditioning at least in the bedrooms as it was very warm at night and the sprinklers come on at 3 am which does wake you up since the windows are open. Those are minor items compared to the overall experience and location of the property. Thank you so much.