Poipu Shores 405A: Chic Top-Floor Penthouse with A/C

Be Prepared For Your Trip With A Free Midsize Rental Car

  6 guests
  2 bedrooms
  2 bathrooms
  Has Pool
  1035 sq. ft.

Instant Quote

Sleeping Arrangement

Bedroom 1
1 King
Bedroom 2
2 Twins
Common Space
1 Sofa Bed


**Please note: Starting May 1, 2019, for 4-5 weeks, there will be construction from 9am-5pm.

**Please note: Elevator will be out of order for modernization, from August 26-October 21, with work being done from 7:30am-5pm. 

**Free mid-size car while cars are available. Not valid with any other special offers. Car can be upgraded for minimal fee, unlimited mileage and taxes included, and is picked-up and dropped-off at the airport. Cars are on a 24-hour basis so if flight arrival and departure times exceed the number of days reserved, there will be an additional charge.

Don’t just vacation in Hawaii, live the “suite” life at Poipu Shores 405A! The top-floor penthouse suite invites your ohana – family – to live like the other half does in a renovated and fully-furnished space. Experience million-dollar views from the large lanai, where you can enjoy fabulous sunsets and watching dolphins and sea turtles play.

The mind-blowing views continue inside as well in the living room, where the Pacific Ocean sparkles through the floor-to-ceiling windows. Crash for the evening on the L-shaped sectional, channel surfing on the 40” flat-screen TV with cable and DVD player.

Flex your cooking muscles in the renovated kitchen, where you’ll find black granite counters, cherry cabinets and high-end stainless steel appliances. Dine al fresco at the 4-person table on the lanai or eat inside at the 6-person dining table.

In the master bedroom, the crisp white linens on the king bed contrast beautifully with the blues and greens of the ocean right out the huge picture window. The master en-suite bath comes with a granite vanity and a tiled shower with glass doors.

Fun and colorful, the 2nd bedroom has bamboo wallpaper and two twin beds that can be converted into a king. The guest bath features an extra-large granite vanity with single sink and large walk-in shower.

Top-shelf amenities include a washer and dryer in the condo, elevator in the building, BBQ area for all guests to use and starter kits of Kauai Coffee Company and Island Soap and CandleWorks toiletries.

All of our Great Vacation Retreats have modern amenities to make your stay as stress-free and enjoyable as possible. Bluetooth stereos and Smart TVs offer the latest in entertainment, and our electronic charging stations mean your group will never have to fight over outlets.

Why We Love This Home

1. Top Floor Location=Unobstructed Views: From your perch on the top floor, you’ll get a bird’s eye view of the stunning surroundings and colorful sunsets. Watch sea turtles and dolphins play all year-round and whales swim through the area in the winter months.

2. Beautiful Pool Area: Set right on the edge of the ocean, the sparkling heated pool is an oasis for all ages. Lay on the pool deck worshipping the sun or jump right in and splash around to cool off from the afternoon heat.

3. Flexible Floor Plan: With 2-bedrooms, one with a king bed and one with two twins that can convert to a king, the flexible floor plan is one of the largest in Poipu Shores. It's ideal for a family with kids or two couples traveling together. If you need even more space, the living room sofa doubles as a queen sleeper sofa.

Grab the towels, umbrellas and beach chairs and take a short 5-minute walk to Brennecke Beach, a hot spot for turtle watching and bodyboarding. A large grassy area with picnic tables and covered pavilions connects Brennecke to popular Poipu Beach. Along with snorkeling, swimming and surfing, Poipu Beach also has a small baby beach protected from the waves that's perfect for kids.
Vacation Membership Available for Exclusive (Members Only)
Poipu Beach Athletic Club (pool, tennis, workout) for a fee
If you’re looking for a resort-style stay, we have you covered. For an additional fee you’ll have uninhibited access to the Poipu Beach Athletic Club, home to a fitness center, hot tub and sparkling pool with a waterslide and sand-bottomed kiddie section - everything you need to work out, cool off or wind down. MEMBERSHIPS ARE LIMITED, PLEASE LET US KNOW  IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SECURE A MEMBERSHIP PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL.



Air Conditioning in the Living Area and Both Bedrooms
Magnificent Ocean Views
Watch Sea Turtles from the Deck
Seasonal Whale Watching
Renovated Kitchen 
Beach chairs, a beach umbrella and a cooler are provided. There could be more beach equipment, too!
Parking is free but limited at Poipu Shores. There is only room for one car per condo.
Nearby Golf Courses and Shopping
40" Toshiba Flat Screen cable TV with DVD in living room
32' Sony Flat Screen in master bedroom
Heated Oceanfront Pool
BBQ Area
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Complimentary Island Soap and Candle Works toiletries
Starter kit of Kauai Coffee Company coffee and condiments provided
All linens including beach towels provided
Starter kit of paper and cleaning products such as toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent, etc. provided

Sleeping Arrangements
Master bedroom: King bed
Guest bedroom: Twin beds that can be converted to King
Living room: Queen size sleeper-sofa

Floor Plan

Floor Plan for Poipu Shores 405A: Chic Top-Floor Penthouse with A/C



Feb - 2019
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28
Mar - 2019
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Apr - 2019
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
May - 2019
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Jun - 2019
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
Jul - 2019
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Aug - 2019
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
Sep - 2019
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30


* Rates are subject to change without notice. Pricing excludes taxes, additional options and fees.


Page: 1 of 2 Write a Review
Reviewed: Jan 1, 2019
Property Manager
Everything was taken care of. Excellent communication. An easy and perfect transaction.
Do not hesitate to book this unit! Poipu Shores is an older building with a phenomenal location. This unit has been refurbished so that it is very comfortable to stay in. The master suite, with its view to the ocean, was fantastic. The second bedroom perhaps a bit less lovely, but it was clean and with the layout of the unit there was some privacy afforded even though the bathroom was not ensuite as a door could be closed to that area of the apartment. The second bedroom is air conditioned, and we found it necessary to use the air conditioning as the breeze did not cool that room. The old safe and the water toys stored in the closet of the second bedroom did detract from the comfort of that room. The kitchen was very well equipped, and we were able to make several lovely meals. The greatest feature of this unit is the lanai. The waves crash directly beneath the unit, and the view is fabulous. Likewise the complex has a heated pool with a wonderful view of the ocean ( and the turtles.) We were somewhat dismayed when we got into the elevator of this older building, expecting the worst. However, unit 405A is really an oasis and we enjoyed our stay very much. Highly recommended. ---MANAGER'S RESPONSE: Aloha, Maria! Thank you for your kind comments, we truly appreciate them! Poipu Shores is definitely a lovely place. Although, the it is an older building, as you mentioned, we do our best create a different atmosphere as soon as you step inside. The location right by the water is hard to beat! We're happy you enjoyed your accommodations and that 405A satisfied your needs for this trip. We invite you to take a look at Poipu Shores 101C the next time you visit! It's a completely renovated, 2-story condo, with AC throughout, and the same amazing view!
Portland, US
Reviewed: Dec 22, 2018
Property Manager
You guys really stood out with the communications as we were choosing a location, and loved the ongoing updates. Thank you. It was clear the unit was well cared for, which in turn made us take extra care as well. ---MANAGER'S RESPONSE: Mahalo, Holly!
Thank you. Super well appointed, everything we needed. Didnt need to have any contact while there. Seems like new batteries in all the remotes (including AC) might be in order, as well as a quick carpet shampoo. Didnt diminish our experience though. ---MANAGER'S RESPONSE: Your comments will be shared to maintenance and housekeeping! Mahalo for the feedback! We hope you will visit again, soon!
Reviewed: Nov 15, 2018
Absolutely stunning views, great value and comfortable unit - perfect for our family of four! Also proactive communication from Great Vacation Retreats was fabulous.
Vancouver, US
Reviewed: Nov 9, 2018
Property Manager
Members of the team were great. Friendly and professional
Reviewed: Sep 2, 2018
Great views out of 4 th floor window right above a very cool ocean blow hole. Beautiful sunsets on your own deck . Pool was nice. Good A/C every room . Very nice furnuture and kitchen. Great place highly recommend.
Los Angelas, US
Reviewed: Jul 4, 2018
Property Manager
Just one thing.......make sure they dust. There was dust on the cabinets, lamps, ceiling fans, tv remote controls,etc. MANAGER'S RESPONSE: Thanks for the heads up. We will pay attention to that.
Oceanside, US
Reviewed: May 1, 2018
Property Manager
Very easy and helpful
Time went too quickly. Loved every moment spent at Poipu Shores!
Silverton, US
Reviewed: Apr 4, 2018
Property Manager
Summerland, CA
Reviewed: Mar 2, 2018
Property Manager
I had no involvement with the team except to ask about the A/C issue.
Biggest mistake we've made in our travels. Buyer beware that it doesn't say anywhere that there is no air conditioning. It was horrible. MANAGER RESPONSE: Aloha. We are sorry that you were not happy with the lack of air conditioning. It is not common in Hawaii to have air conditioning because of costs, building restrictions and it is not usually needed with our cooling trade winds. However, we are sorry that you were uncomfortable during your stay and hope that you will come back as the owners of this property were recently allowed to install ac and we are waiting on the time frame that will allow for it to be installed.
Cassopolis, US
Reviewed: Jan 27, 2018
Property Manager
Stone Ridge, US
Reviewed: Dec 23, 2017
Property Manager
Pittsford, US
Reviewed: Nov 30, 2017
Property Manager
It was a pleasure to work with your company. You promptly responded to our request for information and made the reservation process painless. Our check-in was quick and all we had to do to check out was lock up. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo! So happy to hear. We look forward to your return.
Our stay at POIPU SHORES 405A was great. The condo was beautiful, it looked just like the photos. We choose this unit because of the view and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the water. There was plenty of room for 4 adults, we never felt cramped. The kitchen was well stocked with good quality cookware, appliances and plenty of dishes and glassware. It was also a nice surprise to find condiment and spices also. The furniture and beds were comfortable, with plenty of linens and towels. A washer and dryer are in the unit along with laundry detergent. There were 4 beach chairs, a beach umbrella, and boogie boards. The pool was nice and overlooks some rocky coves where you can watch the sea turtles swim. We didn't see any dolphins but we were told there had been some that morning. (we were too early to see whales.) There is free parking on site and an elevator. It's about a 1/4-1/2 mile walk to the beach - when walking along the road you can see sea turtles swimming in the coves. There are 2 beaches - the 2nd one is better for families (there's a children's area) and we saw lots of fish when snorkeling (the bottom is rocky). There is a place to rent snorkel equipment right across the street and a deli for getting snacks or lunch. We had a delicious fish dinner at Brennecke's (where the deli is). There are several other restaurants within a few miles. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo for your review! The owners take great care of this property and we are glad you enjoyed it. Of course, the view can't be beat! Thanks for being great guests and we hope to see you again soon.
Reviewed: Jul 3, 2017
Property Manager
Thanks so much for an amazing time!
If you love the sound of huge waves crashing against beautiful black lava rocks... and watching sea turtles play 30 yards from your balcony all day... it'll be the best place you've ever stayed! Unforgettable beauty....
Germantown, US
Reviewed: Jul 2, 2017
Property Manager
Staff was quick to respond to my vacation request and booking was quick and easy!
We really enjoyed your property! It was exactly as described and pictured so we had only pleasant surprises. The housewares were fully stocked, washer and dryer worked perfectly and we really appreciated the laundry detergent available in the unit - it saved us a trip to the supermarket! Everything was wonderful - Mahalo!
Reviewed: May 19, 2017
Loved staying at this condo. The views were amazing, it had everything we needed and more, and all communication was easy and quick! We were able to see seaturtles from the condo. I would stay here again. Thanks for a great honeymoon!
Redondo Beach, US
Reviewed: May 9, 2017
Property Manager
Dimondale, US
Reviewed: Mar 21, 2017
Property Manager
The View and Location are terrific. Many activities are walkable. The property is well maintained and provides a great get-away !!
Poway, US
Reviewed: Feb 27, 2017
Property Manager
Team was wonderful
Fort Smith,, US
Reviewed: Feb 18, 2017
Property Manager
Chelmer, AU
Reviewed: Jan 16, 2017
Property Manager
To stay that proximity to the ocean and the rocks was amazing ... Poipu is a beautiful area .... We met lovely owners of the condos and they were so friendly ... even though the property is very old it just felt so clean and comfortable ... I loved the kitchens and the laundrys as a mother of 4 it was easy to get up to date with washing and eat in for a change.
Chicopee, US
Reviewed: Jan 8, 2017
Property Manager
Reviewed: May 26, 2016
Property Manager
We worked closely with Lynn and she was beyond amazing. She responded very quickly and was very polite. We needed a late check out on the last day and we were able to schedule it without any issues.
The stay was excellent. The parking was a little tight because the parking spaces are small and close together. The property itself was beautiful and a great location.
Reviewed: Apr 25, 2016
Property Manager
Logansport, US
Reviewed: Apr 25, 2016
Property Manager
Palisade, US
Reviewed: Mar 21, 2016
Property Manager

Similar Properties