Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property Manager
Great communication and appreciated all the special touches!!!
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 106
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
My husband and I went for a 5 night stay in Kauai, as the honeymoon we weren't able to have earlier, and we chose this condo at Kiahuna Plantation for our trip which did not disappoint! We absolutely loved it. We are a pretty active couple and had regular hiking day plans or visiting other beaches on the island too. The condo had all basic amenities for cooking, and we ate our breakfast on the lanai every morning (with a view of gorgeous vegetation and chirping birds) before heading out on our hikes, to the beach, or other day trips around the island. The roosters act as a natural alarm clock bright and early, so for late sleepers beware of the chicken invasion in Kauai :-) Having the rental car included with the place was a huge plus! We chose to upgrade to a jeep for some off-roading, and GVR was more than happy to help us arrange the upgrade for not much additional daily cost. The cable TV did not work for us (but that was actually a surprising delight because we found we didn't need the TV while on vacation in tropical paradise). I'm certain if we contacted GVR with our concern they would have immediately addressed it because they were so prompt with our other communications. The ceiling fans were perfect for March Hawaii weather. And the condo was clean and relatively large for a couple. Unfortunately we were not able to get a late check out because the condo carpet was being updated, but I would recommend visitors take 10 am check-out into consideration with their plans, particularly because most flights off the island are in the late evening. Other visitors should know this is a condo among many on a large resort with beautiful green grounds, beach access with a short 5 min walk on the grounds, and a beach hut with towels (towel cards included with the rental), rental gear and surf lessons that you can purchase. If you're looking for a resort though with beach-side pools and hot tubs, along with drink service, this is not the most ideal place for you. You are able to walk from the beach in front of Kiahuna to either the Koa Kea Resort or to Marriott Resort to enjoy beachside food and drinks if you prefer. If you are looking for a swimming pool or hot tub, we used the included membership to the Poipu Athletic club daily for outdoor workouts and swimming after coming back from hikes. The only bummer was the the pool and hot tub at the club closed by 7 pm so no late night dips in the jacuzzi. For a couple, this is a great condo where you can cook many of your own meals, perfect location on sunny south side of Kauai with included car rental and athletic club membership...not to mention the great service that the GVR provided. We plan to come back and visit here again soon!
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 431
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
We very much enjoyed our stay at Poipu Sands 122. It worked perfectly for our family of 5. Kitchen was well stocked and everyone slept great in their own beds. The surrounding area is beautiful and grounds are very well kept. Pool was nice and warm! We grilled every night and the grills were easy to use. Quick walk to the Grand Hyatt.
View Property: POIPU SANDS 122
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
This condo far exceeded our expectations! This was our first visit to Kauai and we stayed here for 6 nights and then stayed on the north shore (Hanalei Bay) for 4 nights. For those travelling with kids, this is literally the best spot. The view is amazing, the ocean is right outside your door. There is a beautiful lawn outside the ground floor patio for my 4 year old and 8 month old to roam around. When the kids were napping, my husband and I could enjoy the view. We went to the outdoor, heated, oceanfront pool everyday and its a 30 second walk from our patio. We could quickly check if there were a lot of people swimming before deciding if we wanted to take a dip. Our first morning, we wandered to Poipu Beach, noticed a cute deli/cafe across the beach..ordered coffees and breakfast to go and ate it at the beach. There is a great playground there too. We had all the condiments we needed to bbq almost every day. Poipu beach is a 5-7 min walk and this walk is literally amazing. If you walk in the opposite direction there is a really nice coastline trail to the Hyatt and the view there is ridiculously beautiful. We could see whales in the ocean and we watched sunsets from this trail. When we arrived there was a cute book and Stitch blanket for our daughters first visit to Kauai. I will stay here again. We missed the convenience of this place even when we were staying in beautiful Hanalei Bay. Communication is excellent, car rental that was included was fabulous (we upgraded to a SUV) and service was excellent.
View Property: POIPU SHORES 102A
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Incredible location. Clean, simple space, great amenities. Doubt you'll find a better place on the south shore of Kauai
View Property: HALE MOKU
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Really enjoyed our stay with GVR in Poipu. Each morning we woke up to see the sea turtles as we sat on the balcony. The condo had everything that we needed and more. We were close to many of our favorites places in Poipu and couldnt have asked for a better stay. The area was quiet and peaceful! I would definitely stay here again.
View Property: POIPU PALMS 204
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
The location was good- it was nice to be able to walk to the beach. Our kids loved the pool and it was a good location to be able to drive to other fun places around the island
View Property: KAHALA 132
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Very clean, spacious & comfortable condo. It was nice to be able to walk to the Poipu Shopping Village and Little Fish Coffee shop, both right across the street.
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 313
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
The condo was just as advertised in a great location with a beautiful view of the ocean! Very clean and had great amenities for the beach, although the beach chairs were in pretty rough shape. The company was quick to respond to my questions so communication was very easy. They set up a rental car for you and this whole process was very smooth as well. The condo is located about 1/4 mile from a big outdoor shopping area with great restaurants, but the kitchen in the condo is also well stocked with basic equipment and a few spices if you prefer to cook. There are two grills on a little patio area in the parking lot that had plenty of gas and all of the various grilling utensils so we used that quite a bit. The beach next to the condo building is small but had great snorkeling. There are great beaches in other parts of the island, however, so we would recommend packing up the towels, chairs, boogey board, and cooler that are provided in the condo and heading out for the day. All in all, we were happy with our stay and would recommend it to others!
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 201
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Our family had a wonderful time. We felt very comfortable and relaxed. Our kids love their rooms and the board games. GVR was also very accommodating to our needs by allowing to to have late checkout. Thank you so much and would love to come back for another memorable vacation!!!
View Property: PILI MAI 15J
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
This is a great location near the beach and with fabulous views. The customer service is wonderful. We got all the information we needed, it was easy to get in touch with Great Vacation people when we needed to and they went the extra mile and searched the unit for my son's retainer (they had to look twice) and mailed it back to us. Thank you!!
View Property: POIPU SHORES 102A
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Let me just start off by saying the pictures of the views and condo do not do it justice. The views are even more amazing in person. The sunrises are spectacular! We watched sea turtles play all day from the lanai. There is a lovely astroturf area which surrounds the condos which makes for a nice little walk while you are glimpsing into the ocean. The unit is exceptional! It is updated with an open floor plan, great decorating and many extra beach/play amenity's that other condos do not. Beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach tent, soft cooler and beach toys for the kids. Upon arrival we were given a box of cookies and a shark towel for our daughter. It was a kind welcome gesture :) There are so many beaches within a few miles. One especially, is a short walk from the condo which is named Keiki Beach. There is a great fish market called Kola Fish Market which provide excellent selection and at great prices! Shopping center within walking distance as well.
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 208
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Amazing value, and the included car rental made a big difference. Location was just fine, and the suite had everything you need for a family or 4. Enquiries were responded to quickly and we were well taken care of.
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 307
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
This was our first time using AirBnB so we were nervous how it would go. From the moment I messaged the host about this condo, I felt at ease. As soon as we booked, we got directions to our keys which were easy to grab and no hassle after a long flight. Condo is exactly as pictured and the kitchen is well stocked for making meals. Easy walk to beach or athletic club. Car rental was great & I feel location was perfect to explore entire island.
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 436
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Kahala 132 was a perfect size and layout for our family of 2 adults and 2 teens. Beds were comfortable, and the closet in the main bedroom had plenty of space to unpack and settle in. The kitchen was well stocked, and we especially appreciated the storage containers, ziplock bags, aluminum foil, and extra paper towels. The bathroom had plenty of soap, shampoo, and conditioner. All of this was very helpful since we carried on our luggage and couldn't bring ours. On hot days it was a little warm inside, but there were plenty of extra fans to help keep cool. I rent my basement as an Airbnb, clean it myself, and as a result am very aware of cleanliness. The housekeepers did a great job here. Everything was clean and sanitary. The location was great. There is a small view of the ocean from the deck, which also overlooks the pool. It's an easy walk to Poipu Beach where we saw turtles and monk seals almost daily. Poipu Beach was a little crowded, but is a perfect place if you have small kids who want to play in calm water. There is also decent snorkeling there. If you continue walking past Poipu Beach along the sand, past the next large hotel and one smaller one, then over some rocks, you come to an amazing beach for snorkeling. One thing to be aware of is noise. If you have light sleepers, you might want to bring a sound machine. With no air conditioning you need windows open at night. There is a bit of road noise, and the island roosters often start crowing before dawn. None of this bothered me, but my husband is a light sleeper and he noticed it. Another thing to be aware of is stairs. The home is essentially the 3rd and 4th floors of the building. You go up a flight to get to the front door, then another to get from the entry to the living level. Loft sleepers get to climb an additional flight as well. We ate so much that the additional exercise was welcomed, but it's something to be aware of if anyone in your group has limited mobility. The included car rental was great. We also opted for the Poipu Beach Athletic Club just down the road and enjoyed that. The Big Save in Koloa is a short drive and a good place for groceries. Overall we were very pleased with Kahala 132. Thank you!
View Property: KAHALA 132
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Great spot for vacation and the folks at Great Vacation were super friendly, helpful and responsive.
View Property: POIPU SHORES 101A
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
The condo was nice, was an excellent location to beaches and activities. Plenty of living space and all the amenities we needed. The only difficulty was the heat in the unit. There is no air conditioning and it gets very muggy and hot. The dryer vents to the inside of the unit so when drying clothing the unit become extremely uncomfortable. In all, we enjoyed our stay and it was a good value for our family. It is walking distance to many great activities and a nice condo.
View Property: MANUALOHA 608
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
This property is amazing! It is very large and accommodated our family and friends for our wedding week in Kauai! Great Vacation Rentals makes the booking process easy and they are extremely friendly and nice. We already look forward to our next trip here and would definitely book this property again! Thank you!!!
View Property: LEI OHANA
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Excellent place to stay! We rented this property and the one next to it for our family and friends for our wedding week in Kauai. We had an amazing stay and will be back again!
View Property: MAKANUI BUNGALOW
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
This place definitely ticks all the boxes! The condo is very spacious and very clean. It is full of the most comfortable furniture and amenities. You couldnt ask for more. Very clean and comfortable to come home to after being out all day. The kitchen is fully stocked with every pot and pan you need to cook for yourself and have a night in. We really enjoyed the balcony and evenings out there with wine and cheese. Again..couldnt ask for a better place! Mahalo!
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 303
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
This place was easy to find and not to far from the airport. Super clean loved that we had our own laundry facility. Loved that the car rental was included which they booked for us. The beach was close. There was a shopping centre right down the road always busy. Nice restaurants close by. Golf course touches PILI MIA. Everything is in walking distance once you arrive at this destination.
View Property: PILI MAI 15H
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
We loved this spot! Walking distance to the pool with full restaurant/bar with poolside service - kids love it! Could also walk to the beach, and plenty of restaurants and shops close by too. Service and communication was great. We locked our key inside the unit and they came right away. Our only regret is that we only got to stay 1 night out of the 3 we had booked. Due to the flooding in Hanalei during our stay, we were stranded on the Kalalau Trail and had to be airlifted out! Would definitely recommend this place and hopefully will be back to spend more time there someday:)
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 106
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Poipu Palms 302 is just as advertised - lovely views out into a cove (we watched a lot of sea turtles and even saw a few spinner dolphins passing through). There are effectively two suites, which gave us plenty of room to spread out and would give two couples enough privacy. The lanai and living room were wonderful places to relax. An easy walk (0.5 mi) to the Grand Hyatt (several restaurants and a beach) or Brenneckes Bar (laid back) and beach-front park. Everything was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed for breakfast, lunches or a simple dinner. The condo was in a quiet area - no noisy neighbors and (somehow!) none of the roosters Kauai is infamous for. GVR is great to work with - very responsive and helped with a few special requests.
View Property: POIPU PALMS 302
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Convenient location, comfortable space. Some road noise and can hear neighbors on lanai.
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 335
Reviewed: May 7, 2018
Property
Had a great time staying in this condo. Lots of great details with a fully equipped kitchen. Beautiful ocean views and a short 5-10 min walk to a few different great beaches. 5-10 min walk to two great restaurants. We would definitely stay again.
View Property: MANUALOHA 609