Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
Awesome! Pictures don't do it justice. Great water views, breezes. Redone kitchen with great appliances. Nihi Kai just as great as 26 years ago. Pool great, BBQ area.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
This condo is newly upgraded & was lovely. All upgrades done tastefully & practically. We have small children & there was plenty of room for them to play & nothing really for them to break! We could walk to the pool, tennis courts & the beach. The closest beach was a little too rough for the kids, but we were close enough to Brennecke Beach we could walk there in 10 mins (or drive with all beach gear in 2 mins). We were close to restaurants, as well, but kitchen was well-equipped for cooking. This unit also has a great ocean view. There are beach/pool towels, as well as washer/dryer. There are also some sand toys & 3 beach chairs, so you don't have to rent those. Do know there is no A/C, though! I assumed there was, but there is not. Apparently, not much on the island has A/C (except rooms at big resorts) & usually there are tradewinds to keep it pretty cool at night. But there were no winds while we were there & it could get hot (why I gave it only 4 stars on "comfort").
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
Great two week get-away on our 60th anniversary. The condo was very nice. The only thing that would be nice is the walk-in shower in the guest bathroom & also the Master bath tub could use had rails for safety. We both are 80 years old & found it very had to move around in them.The view was great. Weather was nice. had rainbows allmost every morning. Was easy getting around, thanks to my sister & brother-in-law which were in another unit about four blocks away. They had been there many times before. Everbody was really nice. We would like to go back again & stay in the same unit. Good location.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
We so enjoyed staying in this beautiful unit on this beautiful island! We saw several beautiful sunsets and rainbows from the lanai. This is a very comfortable unit and the surrounding landscaping and view- WOW! Thanks so much- Mahalo! P.S. We really enjoyed seeing the monk seals basking in front of Brenekes- fun!
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
This condo was perfect for us. We are 2 couples, all in our 30's, one couple from the West Coast and one from the East. We had a great time, used every inch of that condo and drove the car all over the island, and can't wait to come back. From the start, when Lou picked us up from the airport, everything was great. Lou loves the island and it was nice to have someone who really took an interest in making our experience a good one. Thanks Lou, you rule! Oh, and thanks for the heads up on how much Go! airlines sucks. It made missing our flight to the mainland due to the Go! pilot forgetting to put down the landing gear on our flight from LIH to PDX a little less of a surprise. Hooray for a 24 hour layover on Waikiki beach! The condo is great. It's a little outdated, and for a big-time cook like myself the kitchen is kind of disappointing (it would be nice if it had been stocked with some spices, oils, and sharp knives), but overall it was just great for our needs. We loved the isla
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
We loved this place. The only thing that could have made it better (for my husband) would have been air-conditioning. We really enjoyed having the choice of two lanais, front and back, to catch the wind wherever it was blowing. We never ate at the dining room table, always on the lanai. The view of the ocean and the sunset were perfect, and the walk down the path to the beach always made it feel like we were returning "home." The pool was a perfect size and kept at a nice temperature, not too warm. Staff was very friendly, as were most of the people on the island. Access to all South Shore beaches very convenient. Our condo was a two-bedroom, which was more than we needed, but it was nice to have two bathrooms. Would love to get friends to meet us there next time, since there's enough room to share and to share the expense. Having a complimentary rental car was great. Didn't know if we'd need one, but it was very nice to have for driving to the store and taking a trek around the island
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
What a wonderful unit at a fabulous location. Unit 826 was "huge" in comparison to many other condos my family has vacationed in; with 4 adults and 1 4 year old, we all had plenty of space. Nihi Kai is directly across the street from a wonderful turtle and dolphin hang-out, and in close proximity to a wonderful boogie boarding beach (which this unit provides plently of boards and other beach toys) as well as the fantastic, family friendly Poipu Beach. You are almost guaranteed sun on any given day. We loved Nihi Kai and definitely loved unit #826--we will be back. Mahalo! Thank you for such a nice review! Nihi Kai 826 is really a great condo - great price, location and views. Glad you had a wonderful trip and I hope to hear from you on your next one:) Aloha, Amy Grant
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
The place was wonderful, extremely clean, with all the amenities. Great ocean views, where we saw humpback whales daily. Plenty of sea turtles, monk seals etc. Short walk to beach even with our 2 year old grandchild no worries. Super beach for adults, snorkeling etc. as well as kiddy beach for the little ones. Very quiet spot with pool. Short drive to shopping and very central for all sightseeing. Local golfing was super too. We loved it and will definately put it on our "come back" list.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
This condo has a lanai with gorgeous ocean views. The layout was good but the beds may need new mattresses. There was plenty of beach gear and enough kitchen utensils. The major issue we had was the heat. It was unusually warm in Kauai during the first part of our stay. It got incredibly hot in the condo from the mid-afternoon to dark. The ceiling fans helped but were not enough to make it comfortable.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
We did enjoy the home very much but did have an issue with the clothes dryer. The dryer had clogged up over time with lint behind the filter and was not drying clothes at all. We let the management company know. The home was very pretty with a beautiful view. The grounds were extremely manicured and quite impressive. It was a brief but relaxing stay. Thanks for letting us know about the dryer - we have fixed the problem:) Glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to hear from you on your next visit! Mahalo and Aloha~ Amy
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
From the parking lot already we could hear the music playing and upon stepping into the condo we knew we got into a very special place. "Great views are awaiting for you" was the description saying - it was even over our expectations! Every day we enjoyed the view over the shiny ocean and lush garden; every evenning we enjoyed Poipu's sunset from the Lanai. The condo looked even bigger than what we thought after seeing the pictures. Harmonious, spacious, furnished with the taste of the island - all made us feel on the perfect holiday mood! All appliances were working properly and we were happily surprised to find so many other usefull stuff like the snorkelling gears, body boards, beach mats etc.. We could only spend 5 nights but we hope we will be back someday and spend a longer holiday in Poipu and of course at Nihi kai Villa 826. Thank you for having a place like that - Mahalo! Thank you so much for the nice review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the condo and your
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
It's up early this Thanksgiving Day. A pot of Kona Coffee brewing.....cutting up a fresh papaya, topped with those small sweet Hawaiian bananas, a little lime juice and some good yoghurt to top it. Linger on that wonderful balcony with that awesome view. A few roosters cock-a-doodling in the distance. The blues of the sky and the sea....the swaying greens of the palms....puffy white clouds.... ahhh what blessings. And yes, we can even see the outline of Niihau Island on the horizon. A hike along the south shoreline east of the Hyatt....noone around today. Just sit on the rocks high above the pounding surf.....and think, and dream, and once again thankful for our blessings. Reality restored, its back to Nihi Kai #826.....let's fix our Thanksgiving Dinner, Hawaiian style. Spice up the beautiful ONO a little, wrapped in banana palm leaves...slow baking. Fix a few shredded potatoes, add a little garlic salt, some grated gruyere and cover with heavy whipping cream.....p
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
We've stayed in many condos while visiting the Islands and I must say this was one of the more comfortable ones. It was very spacious. They provide everything you could possibly need, from the kitchen to the bathrooms. We will stay here again in the future!
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
This was our first trip to Kauai and did we have a great time!! Amy was awesome to work with on the condo rental!! (The condo was spectacular-especially the location and amenities!!!) It was prepared magnificiently for our arrival.(The lighting was on and the TV was playing Hawaiian music while set to the Kauai visitor's channel!! It was an awesome experience and a lasting first impression!!) NOTE: Having a washer/dryer in the unit was so convenient, plus the cooler, beach equipment (quality boogie boards) etc. were great. There were a number of activities that we wanted to participate in while in Kauai and Great Vacation Retreats even handled the arrangements for these. Celeste (Amy's assistant) was absolutely fabulous in making arrangements with vendors who offer that "personal touch" and they (vendors) were very accomodating. And, when our original whale watching tour was cancelled two days before our departure (part of our purpose of a February vacation was to see the whales)
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
We stayed at Nihi Kai Villas #826 with our two children ages 3 and 5 and were very happy with how close we were to the beach, our girls had no trouble walking. They also thouroughly enjoyed the pool and kiddie pool. The unit was clean and everything was working well. We really appreciated the sand toys, boogie boards, etc. that were available. We also loved having our morning coffee on the deck looking out at the beautiful view! We would definitely stay here again! Thank you!
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
We enjoyed the condo and the view very much. It had everything we needed including beach assessories which was a welcome surprise. The only draw back was no a/c, but most times we had enough of a tropical breeze to cool off.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
Unit had a great view; clean; well supplied and maintained. Overall, we had a great experience!
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
n amazing condo in one of the most beautiful places on earth. :)
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
Amazing location, spacious, absolutely perfect place to stay! Minutes away from poi-pu beach where my 15month old can play in the toddler section of the beach. I would definitely come back to Kauai and stay at Nihi Kai Villa #826.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
we loved the unit and especially the fantastic view which we enjoyed while eating most of our meals on the deck.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
The views where great. The pool was practically private. Sunset and mornings where wonderful. The rental car was so easy. This made our stay so much easier Lou picked us up and dropped us at the door to the airport. Thanks for everything wonderful place can't wait to get back. Glad you enjoyed your stay:) I will pass this on to Lou. Sincerely, Amy Grant
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
This was our first trip to Kauai and we fell in love as soon as we stepped out of the airport. The view from our condo was amazing. The condo was very quiet and close to the beach and Grand Hyatt. Although we had to stay inside our condo for 3 days due to the rain storm, we still had a great time. The king bed was very comfortable and we can hear the waves at night from the bedroom. Great vacation retreat provides a great service and we'll definitely use them again on our next trip. The only negative thing I have to say about Nihi Kai # 826 is some of the pots/pans/cooking utensils are in pretty bad shape so may be they can replace some. Other than that, it was perfect. We'll be back to Kauai for sure...
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
The condo was great because of the view and size but is outdated and the carpet was dirty. We did not go barefoot in the condo because of this, and the bottom of our feet were aways dirty if we didn't wear flipflops. We would stay there again if the carpet was replaced. Thanks for the review - we will pass this onto the owners. They are planning on some updates. The carpets were recently cleaned but because of the age I can see where you may have thought they were dirty. Please do contact us in the future!
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
We had a great time. The Nihi Kai condo and then later the beautiful villa of Kamali'i were very comfortable, fully stocked for basics of living, nicely furnished and great locations. We were relaxed and de-stressed in no time! We very much appreciated the support of a guide (Lou Johnson) from and to airport, and the baby kit with stroller/crib etc. We would definitely do this again.
View Property: NK826
Reviewed: Oct 20, 2014
Property Manager
Location, furnishings, view, and scenery were excellent. We were disappointed though with the condition of the carpeting which had years of ground in dirt at the entrance and many ugly stains in the dining area. Also the key provided for the pool didn't work in the lock at the pool. Two lite bulbs were burned out over dining room table. The door to the left of washer/dryer was almost impossible to open.
View Property: NK826