Guest Reviews

Write a Review
Reviewed: Oct 12, 2018
Property
Airbnb Review for Kiahuna Plantation 247 from 10/11/18: Good value. Exceed my expectations.
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 247
Macon, US
Reviewed: Oct 11, 2018
Property Manager
The Great Vacation Retreats team was helpful and quick with responses from booking until after our stay. They provided all information I needed before check-in, helpful information about the property and the area, and checked in with us without being overbearing. They went above and beyond and I would book a property with them again just to ensure the same support on my next vacation. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon:)
Property
Everything from checking in to checking out was easy. The property at Nihi Kai was actually more than what I had expected at booking; they had everything we could need, the property was safe, clean, comfortable, and felt like a home away from home. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon;)
View Property: NIHI KAI 806
Reviewed: Oct 11, 2018
Property
Airbnb review from 10/11/18: "This place has everything you need and the location is perfect!
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 170
Reviewed: Oct 10, 2018
Property Manager
Recent review dated 10/10 from Airbnb: I hate to give a good review because then it might become difficult to book. However, this place met and exceeded our expectations. It was clean, cozy, and provided special touches. For instance, I mentioned this was our honeymoon. The host left us a special note and a bottle of champagne. There were plenty of towels and linens. They even provided full-size bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. My only piece of advice is to watch where you park. The wild parrots, on schedule at dusk, roost in the trees. It's a beautiful sight watching them fly in and find a place to roost, although, it is not a beautiful sight to see your car painted with their droppings. :( Beyond the droppings, I highly recommend this place. We had the sunrise waking us in the morning, the turtles swimming in the cove, and sunset and snorkeling just a walk away.
Property
Recent review dated 10/10 from Airbnb: I hate to give a good review because then it might become difficult to book. However, this place met and exceeded our expectations. It was clean, cozy, and provided special touches. For instance, I mentioned this was our honeymoon. The host left us a special note and a bottle of champagne. There were plenty of towels and linens. They even provided full-size bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. My only piece of advice is to watch where you park. The wild parrots, on schedule at dusk, roost in the trees. It's a beautiful sight watching them fly in and find a place to roost, although, it is not a beautiful sight to see your car painted with their droppings. :( Beyond the droppings, I highly recommend this place. We had the sunrise waking us in the morning, the turtles swimming in the cove, and sunset and snorkeling just a walk away.
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 303
Cudahy, US
Reviewed: Oct 9, 2018
Property Manager
From the beginning, everyone I had contact with was helpful and responsive. Including an onsite maintenance person, Aina, who I asked about local dining options and attractions.
Property
I was a bit apprehensive based on some reviews that were submitted; however, my thought is, "if you want a standard hotel experience down to the furniture, book a hotel". Unit 215 was very charming and had everything we needed. Didn't see any turtles in 10 days; this means we'll have to come back!
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 215
Carlsbad, US
Reviewed: Oct 9, 2018
Property Manager
Everyone was very helpful when booking and planning our trip. We also appreciated the extra links to services available on the island.
Property
We loved Hale Huna! It was the perfect size and layout for our family of six. The air conditioning was so great because the trade winds disappeared the day after we arrived. We had everything we needed (might want to add a wagon for beach supplies) and really enjoyed our stay.
View Property: HALE HUNA
Westminster, US
Reviewed: Oct 6, 2018
Property Manager
Property
It would be an easy fix to remove the levered windows and install wall unit A/C units. For the cost of rent it is amazing that it hasnt been done before. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo for leaving a review. While we love getting great reviews, we also appreciate when things don't go right. The trade winds are normally enough to keep most properties on Kauai cool enough, but when they are not blowing it can be warm this time of year. Most homes on Kauai don't have AC because of this and our high energy costs.
View Property: MANAKO GUEST HOUSE
Greeley, US
Reviewed: Oct 5, 2018
Property Manager
Everyone was so friendly and helpful. All the information we needed was sent to us in advance which was a great help---no surprises and no stress.
Property
We liked everything! The The parking was handy to the condo--no long walk. The location was very good to all of the things we wanted to do. The condo was so clean & well cared for. The beds were comfy, I just don't understand the need for 50 pillows on a bed. Where are you supposed to put them? It was especially great to have a washer & dryer right there--we put them to good use!
View Property: POIPU SANDS 214
Rosedale, CA
Reviewed: Oct 4, 2018
Property Manager
Property
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 303
Bemidji, US
Reviewed: Oct 4, 2018
Property Manager
Property
We were very happy to have the new A/C running in the condo as this trip was very warm. A great addition to an already wonderful property.
View Property: POIPU SHORES 304A
Vaughn, US
Reviewed: Sep 26, 2018
Property Manager
Any questions I had was answered immediately.
Property
a wonderful gift basket for my birthday and anniversary was waiting for us! It was so wonderful and I am so thankful! The property had amazing views of the ocean and sunset! Pool was inviting! No AC, but that didn't bother us. The sliding doors were perfect for getting in fresh air and plenty of fans were available for night time. I hope to come back and hope I can stay in the condo again! MANAGER'S RESPONSE: We couldn't just not acknowledge your birthday and anniversary while you were on Kauai. So glad that you enjoyed our little gift basket. Hope to see you again soon!
View Property: PUU POA 105
Portland, US
Reviewed: Sep 26, 2018
Property Manager
Very friendly and prompt to get back to me
Property
Beautiful condo with great amenities and fantastic location!
View Property: MANUALOHA 609
Reviewed: Sep 24, 2018
Property Manager
Everyone was very friendly and helpful and responded promptly. It was really easy to get a hold of someone if we had questions.
Property
View Property: KIAHUNA PLANTATION 108
CENTENNIAL, US
Reviewed: Sep 24, 2018
Property Manager
Your team was highly responsive to our needs and even allowed us to alter our stay due to a tropical storm! Thank you! MANAGER RESPONSE: Glad we could help. We hope to see you again soon:)
Property
The property was as expected. However it was not very clean. Under the fridge is caked with food, dishwasher has a foul smell when started. Vents and Ac are extremely dirty. The place could use a deep cleaning. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo for letting us know. We will send housekeeping asap for a deep clean and are sorry the property was not as expected for your arrival. Most guests don't like to be bothered during their stay, which we understand, but we wish would would have been able to fix the cleaning while you were here so you could have enjoyed the property more fully.
View Property: POIPU SHORES 101B
Pleasanton, US
Reviewed: Sep 24, 2018
Property Manager
Communication vie phone text was excellent. I replied with any question I had.
Property
The best view and a great value.
View Property: POIPU SANDS 513
St. Joseph, US
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2018
Property Manager
Property
View Property: PUU POA 105
Shuniah, CA
Reviewed: Sep 20, 2018
Property Manager
All the staff members we spoke to were super friendly and helpful. Property was above expectations.
Property
We had an amazing time at this property. The house was very clean, nicely decorated, and a good layout that provided enough separation from each other but enough common areas to be together. Overall really enjoyed our stay here and would love to stay again.
View Property: PILI ALOHA
Salem, US
Reviewed: Sep 19, 2018
Property Manager
It was a pleasure to meet the entire team in the office. I had several special requests during our stay between two properties and they were all worked out amongst the team. I couldnt ask for better support and service. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo! We hope to see you again soon;)
Property
Both properties Pili Mai 15 H and Kiahuna 335 exceeded our expectations and that is why we continue to do business with GVR. MANAGER RESPONSE: Awe, this made our day. Thanks for being great guests!
View Property: PILI MAI 15H
smyrna, US
Reviewed: Sep 18, 2018
Property Manager
Friendly and professional
Property
Clean, convenient, beautiful home
View Property: LEI OHANA GUEST HOUSE
Cave Creek, US
Reviewed: Sep 18, 2018
Property Manager
Your team was friendly and efficient.
Property
The property is well maintained and clean. You can't beat the views. The pool was a big plus as the surf was rough while we were there. It would have been nice if the entire unit was air conditioned, not just the master bedroom.
View Property: POIPU SHORES 101A
Wake Forest, US
Reviewed: Sep 13, 2018
Property Manager
Everyone we interacted with was very friendly and responsive.
Property
The house was a getaway in paradise! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were delighted that the pictures on the website depicted the house exactly!
View Property: MAKANUI BUNGALOW
Albuquerque, US
Reviewed: Sep 12, 2018
Property Manager
Everyone was cordial and knowledgeable.
Property
The property was beautiful and comfortable. We left early this time for a flight--otherwise I would wish for a later check out time.
View Property: VILLAS OF KAMALII 20
Brigadoon, AU
Reviewed: Sep 12, 2018
Property Manager
The updates and communication with the team was great! The only suggestion I would have is regarding the rental car package. When we booked last year (through VRBO) we were informed that the car deal was not eligible for our particular condo because we were a 3 bedroom, however this year we received it with no question (booked direct GVR). This is confusing and a little annoying. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo for letting us know about the car. You are correct. We do not include cars with 3 bedroom properties and it looks like you were given a car without being charged by mistake. At least it was a mistake in your favor;) Thanks for telling us so we can make sure it doesn't happen in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Property
This was the second year in a row we have stayed in 12I and we would stay here again. The location is perfect, close to shopping centres, restaurants, and is a great base to easily explore the island. The layout suited us perfectly as we were travelling with extended family. Everyone had their own retreat with comfortable bedrooms, bathrooms, their own TV, and great views. The kitchen is huge, containing everything you need to prepare a great meal using local produce from the farmers markets held on a Wednesday at the nearby shopping centre. The pool facilities were great and easy to use. It felt like home away from home, very relaxing and comfortable and we would certainly stay here again. MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo. We look forward to seeing you again!
View Property: PILI MAI 12I
Solihull, GB
Reviewed: Sep 5, 2018
Property Manager
Property
Thanks, only think you need to add is basic cooking food. Proper salt and Pepper, cooking oil. Thanks MANAGER RESPONSE: Mahalo for letting us know. We do normally keep those items at the properties and will make sure to leave some for the next guest. Appreciate your letting us know.
View Property: KUHIO SHORES 207
Reviewed: Sep 2, 2018
Property
Beautiful property, well-maintained, and immaculate. Lots of thought into the tiniest details. Easy check in & out. Upscale with great views and location. A must stay in Kauai! Manager's response: Mahalo Robert for your review. Glad you enjoyed Pili Mai. It's a wonderful place to stay. Aloha, Great Vacation Retreats
View Property: PILI MAI 10E